Columbus Chamber adds 5 new members to Small Business Council

The Columbus Chamber has announced the addition of five new members to its Small Business Council.

This year’s additions come from a variety of industry sectors, ranging from architecture to travel to floral design. They are:

  • • Sherm Moreland, CEO of DesignGroup
  • • Gretchen Gordon, managing partner at Braveheart Sales Performance
  • • Joe Hoffman, CEO of United Commercial Travelers
  • • Caroline Worley, owner of Worley Law LLC
  • • Shanika Tyler, owner and CEO of FleurGirl

“Small businesses are critical to a thriving business community and economy,” said Michael Dalby, president and CEO of Columbus Chamber, in a statement. “We value the opinions of the Small Business Council, as they inform our decisions and act as our lens into the small business community, which represents about 90 percent of membership.”

Retiring from the Small Business Council are:

  • • Janis Mitchell, president and CEO of Precise Resource Inc.
  • • Ed Walsh, shareholder-in-charge of Clark, Schaefer, Hackett & Co.
  • • Bill Kiefaber, client experience and business development executive at Questline

The Small Business Council is made up of 24 small business experts, as well as one representative from both the Chamber’s Board of Directors and the Chamber’s Entrepreneur Program.

The Small Business Council evaluates and provides counsel on a variety of issues that affect small businesses in the Columbus region. The council has previously addressed issues such as health care and economic development.

Nominations for membership to the Small Business Council are accepted on an annual basis, usually in November and December.

To learn more about the Small Business Council, contact Somers Martin at 614-225-6919 or via email at [email protected]