SBA to Honor 8 Regional Small Biz Owners, Advocates

The Small Business Administration Columbus District Office will honor eight small business owners and advocates, including Metropreneur Co-Founder Walker Evans, during an event May 4.

The district office’s annual Celebrating Success in Small Business ceremony will be held at the Pinnacle Golf Club in Grove City from 5:30 to 8 p.m.

Evans, who has been named “Young Entrepreneur of the Year,” is being recognized for his efforts to highlight, and foster dicussion about, local businesses and people, according to the SBA.

The other 2011 honorees are:

  • • Small Business Person of the Year: Mark Pukita, chief operating officer of Fast Switch Ltd. in Dublin
  • • 1st Runner up Small Business Person of the Year: Michael Bridges, president of Peerless Technologies Corp. in Fairborn
  • • SBA Financial Services Champion: Jerome Jones, business lending officer at Telhio Credit Union in Columbus
  • • SBA Veteran Small Business Champion: Haleema Shafeek, owner of Green Office Furniture Solutions LLC in Hilliard
  • • SBA Women in Business Champion of the Year: Mary Relotto, founder of Dames Bond LLC in Columbus
  • • Small Business Development Center Service Excellence and Innovation Center Award winner: Kathleen Keller, director of the SBDC at Rhodes State College in Lima
  • • SBA Minority Small Champion of the Year: Sheila Mixon, director of the SBDC at Urban League of Greater Cincinnati

For more information or to make a reservation, contact Shannon Feucht at [email protected] or 614-469-6860 ext 244.